The Thing That Changed My Uni Journey

University has been a journey in itself, and there has been many moments of ups and many moments of downs. It started off with me feeling lost and overwhelmed, and that’s why I began this blog in my first year, so I’d have a safe space where I could say what I wanted and express how I felt, through writing. 

But, without a doubt, the biggest turn around in my whole university experience was being part of my cultural society. I was very introverted and shy in my first year, so it took a lot of convincing from someone I knew, to get me to even attend the events. Even then, I felt very unsure about my place – almost a tad intimidated and lost. And then, that summer, I got asked to join the committee, and I was very hesitant because I felt like it was a lot of responsibility on me, which I didn’t know whether I could live up to. Even if I was reluctant to join, it was probably one of the best decisions I ever made in my life. 

As my second year rolled in, I became super involved with the society. I was planning and hosting events on a weekly basis, I was learning dance routines and performing and most importantly I was making friends. I was finally finding people who were like me, people who I could relate to and people who I could have a laugh with, and it was amazing. I began to blossom and break out of this shell I had made for myself and I became more and more like my true self. And then, things changed all over again when it was decided I should become President in my final year. The same cycle happened all over again – I was hesitant and lacked a lot of faith – but eventually (after a lot of convincing!), I finally decided to do it. 

As my final year rolled in, the society became a part of my life. I placed such a huge burden on myself to keep it to the standards it was left in, and essentially keep it moving onwards and upwards. It made the journey tough because I constantly scrutinised myself, but I had the best committee ever by my side. And funnily, the same people that were merely meant to be my co-committee members, eventually became more than that, they became my second family. It was a strange feeling to all of a sudden become so invested in something, and feel so attached to it. It kept me sane in so many situations, having something to look forward to every day. 

It was a refreshing feeling to be in charge of something which was essentially making so much difference in so many peoples lives. Each time we hosted an event, and I met all these people and they told me how much they enjoyed the evening, it made me smile. Each time someone thanked us for everything we do to make them feel welcome, it made me smile. Each time we broke barriers and achieved something new, it made me smile. All in all, just being part of an incredible society made me smile each day. 

But out of everything, that last day as President, when I witnessed my society winning an award for a performance we all poured our hearts into, and when I walked up on stage with two of my closest friends to collect an award that recognised all our hard work throughout the year, I had the biggest smile ever. It was a moment of realisation that I actually managed to do it, that I didn’t crumble, and it was the moment I realised maybe I should have faith in myself just that little bit more. 

I can guarantee that I wouldn’t be as proud of myself throughout this journey if I didn’t have this society be a part of it. It gave me more than anything I could have ever wanted, it gave me so many happy moments, a lifetime of memories and people who will be my side for life. We always say, the more you give in to this society, the more you get out of it. But that’s lies. Regardless of how much you put into it, it somehow always gives you back way more than you expect. I am thankful for this society, for the people who pushed me to be a part of it and who had faith in me to take it in my hands, and for all the people that stood by my side throughout this journey. Sometimes all it takes is for something magical to come into your life to completely transform everything, and that’s exactly what this society has done for me.

It’s your life, live it and love it.

The Girl With A Name x

Leave a comment