Wedding Bells

When I was younger, I would often dream about my future, and every single dream consisted of marriage. But this wasn’t only my dream, every girl I knew of, dreamed of this moment. The moment you join with your soulmate and declare to the world you will spend the rest of your lives together. I always awaited for the day when I would be able to experience this, but I never realised I would be even more excited to watch two people get married.

I am one of those people who easily gets absorbed into Youtube and I somehow always end up watching wedding themed videos. From the videos where the guy surprises his girlfriend with a proposal in the most romantic way, to videos where the best man gives an incredible speech at the reception, making countless number of people shed tears of joy. Somehow, I always feel so moved that I end up having a lump in my throat, trying to resist crying like a fool at a video of two people I don’t even know. I always thought to myself, if I become this emotionally invested in people I don’t even know, how will I survive it,  if I saw people I deeply cared about get married. After experience, I can firmly tell you I couldn’t survive it at all.

As a family, we had been waiting for ages for someone to get married, so that we can partake in all the celebrations. That moment had arrived, and when I first found out a family member was getting married, I was ecstatic. The thought of being able to watch him get married, him moving on to the next step in life, getting to see family in the name of a wedding, being able to buy new clothes and being fed just seemed perfect. I think, in all the excitement, I forgot that this was actually a big deal, he was actually going to be married. The guy who used to always tease me, who I grew up with, who I’ve known for my entire life, was to become a husband.

Eventually, the wedding day arrived, and when I think about it now, I don’t know how it all happened so quickly. All I remember was waking up in the morning ready for the day to roll in, and next thing I knew, I was at the venue, watching the bride walk in. Prior to the wedding day, we all were discussing about crying at weddings and I assured everyone that I would not cry because whenever I build myself up to something, it never ends up happening. Since, I kept thinking to myself I will probably cry, I will probably cry, I came to the conclusion that this was one of those things I would anticipate to be happening, but wouldn’t actually happen. I couldn’t have been any more wrong.

It was time for them to officially ‘tie the knot’ and become a married couple. The moment I knew it was happening, tears began to stream down my face, and once it had happened, he looked at me and smiled the biggest smile I’ve ever seen, full of pure happiness. The thought that two beautiful souls who have been through so much hardships in their lives, were finally going to be happy together, made me lose it. They have both been in my life since the day I can remember, and there has been numerous moments they’ve had life hit them with problems they do not deserve at all. Every time they were hit, they did not crumble. They rose up and faced their problems. To see their tears turn into smiles, to see our prayers turn into reality and to see them standing there together, it was all that I needed to make me cry. Cry tears of real joy.

Every time I remember them and their wedding, it gives me hope. It gives me hope that no matter what I am momentarily going through, it will eventually get better. Everything gets better one day.

Hope is all I need to carry on living life with a smile on my face, because without it, the world would be a very dark place.

It’s your life, live it and love it.

Love,

The Girl With A Name x

Leave a Reply

